Tasty Plates

Sweet Potato Soup

Fall is in the air and not only is it my favorite season weather wise, but food wise. In my opinion, there is nothing better than curling up on the couch with some fall scented candles and a bowl of hot, homemade soup. So a couple weeks ago, to kick off fall, I decided to experiment with a soup I have never made before.

I didn’t have as much time as I would have liked to dedicate to my soup choice, but with the recipe I chose, I didn’t need it. This was by far one of the easiest soups I have made… and one of the most delicious. My nineteen year-old brother didn’t know what I had even made and he finished off the rest of it while I was out the next day. It is also paleo and vegan which is a plus for some. I am not a vegan myself, but I know others are conscious of this… you be your bad self. So believe me when I say anyone will love this soup!

Sweet Potato Soup:

Ingredients (4-6 servings):

  • 5 medium sized sweet potatoes
  • 1 onion chopped (don’t worry about finely chopping it, bigger chunks is fine)
  • 2-3 stalks of celery
  • 3 medium carrots chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves minced
  • 4 cups of vegetable stock (or chicken stock if you prefer)
  • 1 cup of original coconut milk (a lot come with vanilla flavor… don’t get that one)
  • Sea Salt to taste
  • Black Pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Once you have chopped up all the fresh vegetables, add the sweet potatoes, onion, celery, carrots, and garlic clove to the crock pot

Sweet Potato Soup_1

Look at all that fresh goodness…

2. Add Vegetable (or chicken) stock to crock pot.

Sweet Potato Soup_2

3. Add black pepper and salt to taste, and cover to cook. You can cook on high for 4-5 hours or on low for 6-7. In this case, I went to work so I left it on low for 8 hours total.

4. Once it has cooked, take all vegetables out and put in a blender.

5. Add a few cups of the left over broth to blender and puree mix until it is a smooth texture. (You can also use a hand blender in the crock pot if you prefer; however, I think unless you’re making frosting, hand blenders are a my enemy… that’s just me, though.)

6. Put the blender mix back into the crock pot with remaining broth, and mix well.

Sweet Potato Soup_3

7. Add coconut milk to soup and let sit on low for 15-30 minutes. Add more salt and pepper to your liking.

8. Serve warm, add light amounts of mozzarella and cilantro for serving if you desire.

Sweet Potato Soup_4

I love this soup. It’s one of my new favorite dishes. It took me 10 minutes to cut up all the vegetables the night before and thirty seconds to dump it all in the crock pot the next morning. Once I came home from work, it took 10 more minutes to puree it and mix it all back together. Does it get easier??

How are you guys jumping into this fall?

Leave a Reply

