Tasty Plates

A Little Taste of Italy

I cannot express how much I would love to go to Europe. I love European everything… European history, fashion, architecture, apparently men (Andrew is Hungarian). But I  especially love the food. I imagine it will be a few years before I can physically be in Europe eating European food… So I have done well holding myself over by finding some delicious recipes. This one I’ve named “A Little Taste of Italy,” inspired by Jill’s recipe found here. I altered a few things for myself but she did a phenomenal job – here we go!

Ingredients:

  • 3 Roma tomatoes
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 small jar of artichokes/juice strained
  • 2 large tablespoons of oil of your choice (I use avocado oil or coconut oil for cooking/baking)
  • 2 tablespoons of flour
  • 4 chicken breasts
  • 1-1.5 cup of mozzarella cheese
  • Several fresh basil leaves

Directions:

-Slice tomatoes into small chunks and place into bowl.

-Thinly slice garlic cloves and place into bowl.

-Slice artichokes in quarters and place into bowl.

-Add two tablespoons of oil of your choice into the mixture in bowl.

-Add two tablespoons of flower into the mixture in bowl.

-Sprinkle salt and pepper into bowl.

A Little Bit of Italy_1

-Place chicken breasts in pan.

-Cover chicken breasts with mixture in bowl.

A Little Bit of Italy_2

-Bake chicken in the oven on 350 until chicken is close to being done (I baked for 35 minutes).

-Take out when the chicken is nearly cooked though and add mozzarella cheese along with several basic leaves on top.

A Little Bit of Italy_3

-Bake chicken dish until the cheese is bubbly and golden (I baked for 5-7 more minutes).

-Take out…. and be ready to eat the whole pan.

A Little Bit of Italy_4

Yum, yum, yum! Thank you Jill for this incredible meal.

Leave a Reply

