Tasty Plates

My Work-Week Breakfast

It has been three months since I last posted anything… Safe to say, it has been an extremely busy time between the holidays, wedding planning, work, etc. I honestly have not felt very creative or felt I have the energy to be. I find myself making some-what of the same meals and broadening out less. It has been a season of change a growth and while I would not have it any other way, it can be exhausting. Andrew and I have been attempting to embrace the evenings with nothing planned and to keep it that way.

Alas, just because I have not been jumping out of the norm-box as much as I typically try to does not mean that I do not have anything to share (I just had that epiphany tonight). Before the holidays hit, I tried to prepare myself for all of the treats that would be in the office… and there was a multitude. I am not much of a morning eater (I could just inhale coffee and call it good) but I figured I am less likely to stuff my face with the goods laying around if I filled myself with healthy, fresh foods first thing.

While attempting this plan, my coworker brought in a “breakfast hash” as she called it, which she would make the night before. Essentially, she just threw together whatever healthy goods she had in her fridge and packed it for the next day. I have a preference for baking things (let’s be honest, I just don’t have to pay as much attention to it) so I figured I may as well try this idea.

After a few times of making it, I finally perfected my “breakfast bake.” Andrew even loves it! When I give him a serving for breakfast the next morning, he eats it that night… I digress. It is not only delicious, healthy, convenient for work-week mornings, but extremely easy to make. Typically, this is how I prepare my “Breakfast Bake.”

Ingredients (five servings):

  • 10 mini peppers (you can use any kind or size)
  • 1.5 cups of cubed chicken sausage
  • 2 cups of cubed potatoes
  • 2 cups of cubed butternut squash
  • one whole sweet onion
  • Salt & pepper
  • Parsley

Instructions:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 375°F.
  2. Cut up all ingredients and set aside in separate containers.
  3. Spread oil of your choice (I use coconut or avocado) in an 11×17 pan.
  4. Place cut potatoes, salt & pepper, and parsley in pan and bake for 20 minutes.
  5. Add butternut squash and chicken sausage to the pan, stir, and place back in the oven for 15 minutes.
  6. Add onion and mini peppers to the pan, stir, and place back in the oven for 10 minutes.
  7. Add any extra toppings of your choice. I recommend avocado – yum!

DONE! Enjoy a serving while you let the rest cool for your upcoming week.

IMG_1170IMG_1172

Try this out and experiment! I would love to hear what kinds of combinations you come up with! Comment below 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

